High School Student Winner of Statewide Organ Donor Poster Contest

Meghan Walsh, a student at Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School, will join Secretary of State Jesse White in Springfield today to be recognized as the winner of the 2008 Illinois Organ & Tissue Donor Poster Design Contest. Meghan’s design beat out hundreds of other entries and will be featured on posters that will be posted throughout the state during April, National Donate Life Month.

The full story is below as well as Meghan’s winning design. Congrats!

-Scott

Story from Kankakee Daily-Journal here.

Web exclusive: BBCHS student wins statewide art contest

03/26/2008, 8:21 am Comment on this story Print this story
By Hayley Graham


High school senior Meghan Walsh started drawing when she was just 4 years old.

Now 18, she is the winner of a statewide art contest and will be honored in a ceremony at the office of Secretary of State Jesse White in Springfield today.

Walsh, a student at Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School, was selected from hundreds of other entries to win first place in the State of Illinois Organ and Tissue Donor Poster Design Contest.

“I’m excited, honored and humbled,” she said.

While her work has been in art shows before, Walsh said this is only the second contest she has entered and her first big win. Her design will be featured on every organ and tissue donor poster in Illinois during 2008.

“I was hopeful, but when I found out I was taken by surprise and just so happy,” she said.
Her poster is an acrylic painting of a child wearing a medical bracelet holding an adult’s hand, while walking down a hospital hallway. The tagline reads: “Their lives are in your hands. Be an organ donor.”

The design was meant to convey the message that there are people of all ages in need of an organ or tissue donation, she said.

Katie Bretzlaff, Walsh’s art teacher at BBCHS, said students regularly enter and place in contests, but this is the first statewide win for the school.

“Meghan is probably one of the most hard working and creative young people I’ve ever worked with,” Bretzlaff said.

Walsh will be attending Millikin University in the fall. She plans to major in art therapy.

19 Responses to High School Student Winner of Statewide Organ Donor Poster Contest

  1. Janae says:

    We are doing a project in school about organ donors and we would like to use this picture would this be okay? please email me or comment back please and thank you

  2. Scott Meis says:

    That’s fine Janae, thanks for the heads up.

  3. Cari Wilson says:

    Hello, my name is Cari and we are doing a project at North Daviess and we were wondering if we could use your picture for an educational project.

  4. Hello can I reference some of the content found in this blog if I link back to you?

  5. […] High School Student Winner of Statewide Organ Donor Poster Contest March 2008 4 comments […]

  6. lilly says:

    Would it be okay with you for me to use this picture for my educational project?
    Please let me know via email.
    Thank you very much!

  7. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website
    is really good.

  8. Hello, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing
    facts, that’s genuinely good, keep up writing.

  9. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you
    amend your website, how can i subscribe for a weblog web site?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I were a little
    bit familiar of this your broadcast provided shiny clear concept

  10. At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, when having
    my breakfast coming over again to read further
    news.

  11. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I think that you should publish more about this topic, it
    might not be a taboo subject but generally people do not
    discuss these issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  12. Amazing! Its actually awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea concerning from this post.

  13. When some one searches for his essential thing, therefore he/she needs to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is
    maintained over here.

  14. Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital
    to claim that I get actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your feeds and even I
    success you access consistently quickly.

  15. Hey I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at
    the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  16. Very good info. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).

    I’ve book-marked it for later!

  17. Hurrah! At last I got a website from where I know how to
    actually take helpful facts concerning my study
    and knowledge.

  18. Howdy! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might
    be able to correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Cheers!

  19. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable know-how on the topic of unpredicted feelings.

Leave a Reply

