Illinois Donor Diaries – Chapter 17 – Just Because

It’s been way too long since I’ve posted a new entry from our Illinois Donor Diaries. When the entry below came through, it quickly became one of my favorites. On top of joining the state’s donor registry, Amanda went a step further to help a fellow human being as a living donor.

Enjoy,

Scott

May 12, 2008

“Why?” is the question that I got most often. At 21, donating a kidney to someone you’ve never even met isn’t really the norm. But then again, even at that age, neither was I. For under the blue hair, tattoos and crazy antics, there is a girl that most people never get to know- there is the youngest recorded, non-direct kidney donor.

“Why?” they asked.
And I told them.
“Because.”

Because it’s the right thing to do. Because I would want someone to do it for me. And more- because if you needed it, I would want someone to do it for you. Because- think of the recipient- how it will change their life and the family and friends who will get their loved one back. Think of the opportunity I have to make manifest my beliefs, to make my ideals into reality, to live up to the expectations I have created for myself. Because this is the best way to be the best person I know how to be. Think of how it will change my life too. Isn’t that reason enough?

Isn’t that the best reason?

So I went ahead, without the support of my family or friends, with only the physicians approval to lead me and an unknown recipient at my side- and I donated that kidney anyway. Call me rebellious, I guess. But what did you expect from someone with a rainbow colored mohawk and body piercings?

Because.

Because what you should expect- is that I will give you a second chance now to change your mind about what you think of the ‘freak’ walking down the street. I will give you a second chance to reconsider who might be the one that saved/changed your life or the life of someone you know and love. And what you should expect most- is that I will never hesitate to tell you that it was one of the best things I have ever done and would do it again in a heartbeat.

And maybe you can’t pull off a green mullet like I can, but you can be an organ donor. You can join me in my campaign to teach and heal others. And it’s easy- you can register with Donate Life Illinois and help others in need when you’ve passed on! Why?

Because.

Organ donation is the cool thing to do.

~Amanda
Chicago, IL
Leave a Reply

