Illinois Donor Diaries – Chapter 21 – A Lifesaving Decision

Shelly dropped me a line last week on MySpace and I realized I had not featured her Donor Diary entry about her husband Tim. Be sure to check out the story below and hop over to drop Shelly a hello!

-Scott

September 11, 2008

I’ve been a registered organ donor since I was 18-years-old. It wasn’t until four years ago when I fell in love with my husband that I really understood how important it was. I met my husband Tim while he was on dialysis waiting for a transplant. He had waited for a total of four years to get the call that changed our lives.

Because of the generosity of a young man from Montana, Tim now lives a normal life. He doesn’t have to spend 15 hours a week at the dialysis unit and another 15 hours a week being sick from the dialysis. He has energy and can eat a normal diet. 

We can spend time traveling, shopping, walking, bike-riding, and motorcycling. We couldn’t do all of this on our own free will when he was on dialysis because of the schedule he had to keep or because he was feeling too sick. I wish I knew the family from Montana so I could personally thank them. Their gift means more to us than they could ever imagine.

Someday my husband’s body will figure out that the kidney isn’t his. That time may be soon or not for 10 or 20 years. At that time he will go back on dialysis and back on the transplant waiting list. I hope we have enough donors by then so he doesn’t have to wait another 4 years. Until that happens, we are enjoying life to its fullest.
Shelly Pfaff  
Morris, IL
One Response to Illinois Donor Diaries – Chapter 21 – A Lifesaving Decision

  1. […] going to take a look back and check-in with writers of previous entries. Almost two years ago, Shelly shared her story. In this entry, Shelly again reflects on her decision to be a donor and her husband’s […]

Leave a Reply

