An Interview With Morgan D’Organ

With one week to go until the launch of the 2008 Campus Challenge, we thought we’d check in with our campaign mascot, Morgan D’ Organ, to see what he’s been up to and to clear up some frequent questions from our college supporters.

-Scott

So, just for the record…WHAT exactly are you?

You don’t want to know how often I get asked that.

I think people initially get so overwhelmed by my size, pinkness and good looks that it’s hard to tell what I am. But to answer your question, I’m a large, lovable liver that serves as the mascot for Donate Life Illinois and encourages Illinoisans to register as lifesaving organ and tissue donors.
 
You seem to spend a lot of time educating college students about organ & tissue donation. Did you ever go to college yourself?

Absolutely, as a matter of fact, I graduated with a B.S. in Physiology from Oregon State. Though I am an Illinois native, Oregon State just felt like a natural fit for some reason. I think the name has a nice ring to it.

What do you like about working with college students on the Campus Campaign?

I love getting out and working with college students. They are so passionate and supportive of donation, oftentimes without having a specific tie to the issue. They’re really inspiring and fun and definitely make it easier for me to keep that smile on my face…a permanent smile on my face even.

You seem to be in a lot of movies…is that a second career?

A career in film is something I never really aspired to. I started working with Donate Life Illinois as a way to make a positive impact and help save some lives. We did a few videos to promote the issue, but I never dreamed my film career would take off like it did. It wasn’t long before Hollywood came calling, but that’s not really my scene.

I did do a couple of independents that were screened at Sundance, and that was a great experience. But any movies I am in, and the attention that comes as a result of them, are all in the name of saving lives. That is, and always will be, my primary focus.
 
 What’s in store for the big guy this fall?

Oh, I’m so glad you asked. Fall is going to be awesome! Oct. 1 marks the kickoff of Donate Life Illinois’ 2008 Campus Challenge. We’ve already got 16 schools onboard helping with the effort, which is a friendly statewide registration competition between Illinois colleges and universities. Don’t be surprised if you see me trouncing out and about at a campus near you!

Until next time,

~ Morgz

Leave a Reply

