New Donate Wales Organ Donation Ad

Donate Wales launched a new hard-hitting ad yesterday to help call attention to the need for registered organ donors. The 30-second spot focuses on six-year-old “Sian” (played by an actress) racing against time as she waits for a transplant and pleading with the public to “don’t let me die.”

Apparently, the ad can only be screened after 7:30 p.m.  I’ve blogged about similar edgy ads from across the pond and have had pretty balanced reactions from readers regarding whether something like this would fly in the U.S.

Thoughts on this ad? Drop us a comment.

-Scott

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

5 Responses to New Donate Wales Organ Donation Ad

  1. anotheranarchist says:

    I personally don’t like the ad but it’s not because of the organ donation part of it; I am an organ donor after all. To me, the “don’t let me die” imperative demands of the viewer a thing that the viewer is unable to change even if he does run down to the DMV to change his donor status. I think it would have ended better if it suggested there might be more organs that would potentially match if there were more donors. I think the ad as presented would fly in the U.S. amongst those who act based on emotional tugging but would be offensive to those who think about it for a half second.

    2 cents cuz you asked- you may think I deserve change though.

  2. Scott Meis says:

    Thanks for the feedback. That seems to be the consensus in terms of a missed opportunity to end the messaging on a positive note.

  3. Pam Richard says:

    I saw this ad online this morning. I was reading a story about the walk they are having in Wales. One of the kidney recipients profiled was a young woman like myself who had lupus which caused kidney failure. I saw the link to the ad and I was surprised by the ad too. I was glad to see the dialyis equipment in the background (never seen it in a commercial here) but I was put off by the last line too. Ending on a note like that gives the wrong message. I believe the UK or maybe just England, is trying to pass a law that makes you opt OUT of being a donor. As a recipient , I think it should still be a choice.
    Pam

  4. sharon says:

    I AM SORRY IF THIS OFFENDS PEOPLE BUT IF IT GETS PEOPLE TO DO SOMETHING AND BECOME A DONOR AND SAVES JUST ONE LIFE THEN FOR GODS SAKE WHY ARE WE EVEN ASKING THE QUESTION!!!!

  5. […] Organ Donation Ad Mouse here forThat Was Random Related LinksThat Was Random Related LinksNew Donate Wales Organ Donation Ad A Fun Fact… Powered By WPFacts This entry was posted in That Was Random Pictures and […]

Leave a Reply

