In-Depth Interview with Double Lung Transplant Recipient

SteveKariHancockMed

Steve Ferkau

Last week, we mentioned that Cathy Doheny at the Examiner has been doing a series of posts about organ and tissue donation. Her first series of posts focused on donor family member Tim Joos and his daughter Samantha, who was a tissue donor.

Last weekend, Cathy finished posting about double lung transplant recipient Steve Ferkau and his donor Kari. The series starts with this introductory post and is followed up by this interview series (part 1 , part 2, part 3, part 4).

Be sure to check it out and thanks Cathy and Steve!

-Scott

p.s. On a separate note, we’re giving away 12 free pairs of tickets to this weekend’s Kenny Chesney concert as part of our sponsorship with US99! Become a fan of our Facebook page and keep an eye out for the announcement on how to win today!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to In-Depth Interview with Double Lung Transplant Recipient

  1. Steve Ferkau says:

    Thanks, Scott, for posting about this… Cathy gave me a lot of lattitude with the questions and answers and for better or worse, I took it… I like the way the whole series turned out — with Tim’s Q&A about his beautiful daughter, Samantha… Followed by my Q&A about being a recipient, and about Kari…

    The series turned out pretty neat… Thanks for promoting it! Love, Steve

  2. Hallie says:

    Stumbled onto your blog and am hoping that your readers might be interested in this.

    http://www.firstgiving.com/hallietwomey

    6 years ago next week, my Dad received a new heart. He lived in a Boston hospital for 98 days basically waiting to get a new heart or to die. It was that cut and dry. The doctor’s were brutally honest….at 59, he would die without a transplant. While there, we watched as several of his floormates died before a heart became available. It was hard. Very hard. Yet it happens more time each day than I care to think about.

    Since that day (June 13th, 2003) I have passionately wanted to do SOMETHING, ANYTHING to help raise awareness about organ donation. I always believed that if my Dad’s story helped change even one person’s mind, then I would be a very happy daughter.

    But you know what? I want to do more. I want to help in a BIG WAY.

    I’ve been debating how one thankful daughter can make a difference, How I can help spread the word. How I can best honor not only my Dad but the memory of the donor as well.

    What I know is that more eduaction is needed and that more people need to learn why organ donation is so very important. What I’ve found is that for some people, until they are faced with a loved one (or themself) needing an organ, they don’t necessarily think about it. I wish that NO ONE ever had to face the excruciating choice involved in donating their loved ones organs, but I know that will never happen. If my Dad’s donor family had NOT agreed to donate their son’s heart, my Dad would not be here today.

    What I decided to do is to hold a raffle in August to raise as much money as I possibly can. All the money I raise will be turned over to UNOS, an organization that works dilligently to raise organ donation awareness.

    I am using all of June and July to solicit donated items to raffle off in August.

Leave a Reply

