Illinois Donor Diaries – Chapter 32 – Lynne’s Angel

Below, Lynne shares our latest chapter from our Illinois Donor Diaries about her granddaughter Dylan, who helped save others’ lives as a donor.

Please submit your story here if you’d like us to share!

Thanks,
Joslyn

dylan

Dylan Faith

I am going to tell you a story about an angel. Her name is Dylan Faith and she is my granddaughter.

Dylan was born on March 18, 2004 with Gastroschisis and required immediate surgery. Most of Dylans’ bowel had died and surgeons were able to piece together approximately 8cm of bowel.

Dylan was given a 25% chance of making it 24 hours.

Seven weeks later she came home. She was put on TPN (total parental nutrition). She was fed through a central line but encountered several infections. Dylan was such a happy baby for all that she went through and she always had a smile on her face. Three quarters of her life was spent in the hospital. In August 2004, Dylan was evaluated for a transplantation. The TPN damaged her liver and she was placed on the transplant waiting  list for both a small bowel and liver.

On December 23, 2004 she was admitted to Children’s Memorial Hospital where she waited for a donor. The weekend of January 22, 2005 my husband and I visited with her at the hospital. When we left, I had a gut feeling that something wasn’t right. Dylan was cooing and smiling but something just didn’t feel right. Around midnight that night my daughter called and told us that Dylan was running a fever.

The next morning she was taken to intensive care and on Tuesday my husband and I drove back to Chicago. She was in an induced coma and her kidneys had started to fail. Dylan remained on dialysis 24 hours a day, along with a ventilator. The poor girl had more iv’s and drugs pumped into her little body than you could ever imagine. Dylan put up a hard battle for the next three weeks. On February 15, 2005 my daughter called me and told me that “today would be the day that would break my heart.” They had decided to take Dylan off of all medications and the ventilator. They waited until my husband and I got to Chicago to say our goodbyes.

Deep down I feel that God had a purpose for Dylan and it was to use her story to help with awareness and to get more people to become organ/tissue donors. Dylan may not be here physically but she is always here with me spiritually, pushing me to keep going and encouraging people to join the donor registry. I will continue to do so for as long as I can. There is a saying “Don’t take your organs to heaven. Heaven knows we need them here.”

If you haven’t already, please join the Illinois organ/tissue donor registry please do so today.  Thank you.

-Lynne B.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

