Donate Life Rose Dedication Program

Following up on our last post from Donate Life Rose Parade float rider Anne Gulotta, we wanted to call attention to a key part of the Rose Parade float – the Family Circle Garden. Please check out information about the Rose Dedication Program below as a great way to honor a donor.

-Scott

Anne Gulotta

A beautiful event will take place on New Years day on the Donate Life Float.

Twenty four float riders will gather at 5 a.m. Pacific time to take the ride of their life. Among all the fragrant and colorful flowers that cover the 55 foot long Donate Life float, a special area will be dedicated to the Family Circle Garden.  The Family Circle Rose Dedication Program offers families touched by organ and tissue donation the opportunity to honor their loved ones by dedicating a rose that is tagged with a personal message and placed in the Family Circle Garden.  The Garden is a living memorial of the Donate Life Rose Parade Float.

Families and organizations can participate.  Good Shepherd Hospital in Barrington, Ill. is one of many participating hospitals who will be participating. This is a special event, and there will be a ceremony in Pasadena focused on placing the roses on the float. Viewers will be fixated on the majestic Phoenix which rises 30 feet into the air. The extraordinary display of roses will also be a highlight.

As an Ambassador for Gift of Hope and Donate Life, my role is to promote organ donation. In doing so I would like to extend to you my service and offer to place a rose(s) in your honor of the person you are honoring. If you have never dedicated a rose on the float, I strongly urge you to do so. There will be over 3000 roses dedicated, and I hope to be photographing and documenting the event.  I hear it’s a tear-jerker.

It’s easy to sign up for the program. You can read dedications that have been posted.  If you have already dedicated a rose(s) let me know who you are, and I will ask permission to place the rose in your honor.

The Rose Dedication program has been a way for me and my family to honor Jay and the lives he saved.  A woman by the name of “Rose” once said; “We a make a living by what we get, We make a life by what we give.”

That’s what organ donation is all about. Giving life to others.  So, it’s important that we occasionally honor those who’ve been touched by organ and tissue donation.

~ Anne

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Responses to Donate Life Rose Dedication Program

  1. Steve Ferkau says:

    Hey Scott (and Annie!!!)

    Dude — I’m rippin’ off your post again… I’m going to use your post to create mine at Revive Hope sometime today… I figured you or Anne wouldn’t mind.

    I finally got around to buying my rose, and I hope I can get Anne to place it there for me. Can you believe that I’m only allowed 200 characters for the dedication? I sneeze more characters than that… I wrote: “Kari, It’s been almost 10 years. You’ve given me so much more than breath and life; you’v given me your friends. They share as if they were with you yesterday; they’ll never forget you. Love, Steve”

    I find it difficult to say all I want to say in 10,000 words much less 200 characters — maybe that’s why I procrastinate. Thanks for posting and reminding me. Love, Steve

  2. Scott Meis says:

    But of course! Rip away and I think that tribute is perfect Steve.

  3. […] be gathering at the National Kidney Foundation of Illinois with Donate Life Rose Parade float rider Anne Gulotta as well as the Chana family to decorate two floragraphs that will be placed on this year’s […]

  4. mjdfgcss says:

    http://helkj.narod2.ru AllSubmitter – Программа чтобы раскрутки сайта. Максимально качественная, быстрая и контролируемая регистрации в любых информационных ресурсах Интернета.

Leave a Reply

