30 Stories in 30 Days: Valerie’s Re-Birthday

Valerie struggled to breathe while waiting for a lifesaving double-lung transplant.

Valerie struggled to breathe while waiting for a lifesaving double-lung transplant.

“I celebrated my 15th re-birthday March 3rd after receiving a double-lung transplant,” said Valerie Batz. “Now, I can breathe!”

Valerie was born with cystic fibrosis, a progressive disease that scarred her lung tissue and clogged her airways until she had very little air space left. She struggled with the disease for 38 years before she went on the transplant waiting list at Loyola University Medical Center. “For all of those years, I had strong support from my parents and husband,” she said. “And I fought to live for my nine-year-old twins.”

Valerie with her twins on graduation day.

Valerie with her twins on graduation day.

 But Valerie’s condition deteriorated until her doctors said she had less than 24 hours to live. She wanted to go home to say good-bye, but she asked them to hold her room because “I didn’t want to die at home and have my children experience my death,” she explained. “That was the hardest conversation, telling my children how much I love them and that mommy’s going to heaven. I couldn’t cry because it would stop my breathing.”

Then the call came, and she was rushed back for surgery. “When I woke up, I could breathe!” she exclaimed. Valerie’s first question was about her donor. “I thank her for every breath I take,” she said. “She has allowed me to watch my children grow up. I hope my donor is proud of how I’ve taken care of our lungs and how I’ve given back by raising funds for CF and speaking on organ donation. I’m blessed and grateful, and I believe in miracles because I am one.”

Valerie can now live her life without worry... Thanks to a selfless donor.

Valerie can now live her life without worry… Thanks to a selfless donor.

Leave a Reply

