30 Stories in 30 Days: An Organ Is a Terrible Thing to Waste

Pam Carpenter and her husband, Donald.

Pam Carpenter and her husband, Donald.
Photo courtesy of the Chicago Sun-Times – Matt Marton

Pam Carpenter was diagnosed with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis in 1992. IPF is a debilitating lung disease that causes the air sacs, or alveoli, in the lungs to scar and harden. The cause of this chronic, progressive disease is unknown, and there is no known cure or medication available to improve the condition. The scarring of the lung tissue cannot be reversed, and, as the disease progresses, breathing becomes more and more difficult.

Statistics show that the life expectancy rate after IPF is diagnosed is two to five years. But Pam is quick to tell you she is not a statistic. “I have lived with IPF for 21 years,” she explained. “I am fortunate to have a caring church and a great family support system of sisters, aunts and nieces.”

Pam Carpenter continues to wait for a second chance at life. - Photo courtesy of the Chicago Sun-Time - Matt Marton

Pam Carpenter continues to wait for a second chance at life.
Photo courtesy of the Chicago Sun-Times – Matt Marton

Pam currently is on oxygen 24 hours a day and is waiting for a double-lung transplant. “Each day is a new challenge,” she said. “That is why organ donation is so important to me, my husband, my daughter, my mother and my four grandsons.”

Pam is an Advocates for Hope volunteer with Gift of Hope and is encouraged “because the world of organ donation has evolved, and there are many new lifesaving techniques being explored and used,” she said. “I am also encouraged because people will read these stories and, hopefully, will feel compelled to take action about organ and tissue donation. An organ is a terrible thing to waste.”

7 Responses to 30 Stories in 30 Days: An Organ Is a Terrible Thing to Waste

  1. Tange says:

    Auntie Pam, I am so proud of you. For your stength and service to the Lord who is truly using you to shine light on the world through your love and willingness to serve him and the world. May HIS GRACE continue to hold you so that you can be a testiment to HIS POWER!!!! And I pray that you continue to be a blessing to all as you are to me. I LOVE YOU.

  2. Karen says:

    Love you Auntie Pam!

  3. Bblessed says:

    I became an organ donor in 1974 when first received my drivers license…i just made sense to give ‘life’ Pam’s story only underscores the need to be generous in life and death. I pray she receives her new lungs soon. Love you Pam.

  4. Valerie Sanders says:

    Pam is truly an inspiration. I was fortunate enough to meet Pam through her wonderful sister Gloria. I love you all! May everyone who reads this see the importance of being an organ donor. Continued Blessings!

  5. Gloria says:

    Pam continue to have faith and know that you are covered! I pray daily for your old lungs as well as the new ones, and I have faith that you will continue to be a blessing to all who may encounter you!

  6. Addie says:

    Pam you are already healed by his stripes. I know that God is going to give you a miracle. I expect it and my faith trust God for your total healing. God is going to manifest his healing power over you in Jesus’ name. Amen

  7. Karen says:

    Rest In Peace my beautiful Auntie.

Leave a Reply

